Second Grade

 Second Grade Logo

Second  Grade Newsletter

August 21, 2020

 

We are excited about moving to the new Alcoa City Schools’ Schedule.  Teachers have shared the Monday-Wednesday and Tuesday-Thursday schedules.  If the change affects how your child leaves school at the end of the day, please let the teacher know as soon as possible.  Also, please make sure your contact information is up-to-date in Skyward.  

The Alcoa High School Football Team takes the field Saturday evening at 7:00.  The PTO is sponsoring Food Trucks and selling Alcoa gear. If you are going to the game, please stop by and support the PTO.

Some students are bringing Chromebooks back and forth in their backpacks.  All Chromebooks stay at home...your student will use Chromebooks we have here during the day when they are at school.

 Informational video links https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQ0J59-ClgY&feature=youtu.be

Virtual Learning Help Videos

 

AES Special's Rotation Schedule:

Specials Classes will begin M/W and T/Th classes rotating through Specials

Specials Schedule

 

Upcoming Dates:

2nd Grade Calendar & AES School Calendar:
Aug, 24: Begin Staggered Start Days: Students will attend either Mon/Wed or Tue/Thur. (Friday will be all virtual)
Sept. 7 -  NO SCHOOL - LABOR DAY
Sept. 8 -  NO SCHOOL - Teacher Professional Development
Sept. 17: PTO Family Night
Sept. 22: Picture Day
Sept. 24: Alcoa Night Out Against Crime
Sept 29 - October 11  -  FALL BREAK
October 26-30 - Red Ribbon Week
 
 
 

The best way to contact your child’s teacher is through Class DoJo or the email listed below:              

Sandy Stuart sstuart@alcoaschools.net                       Angela Phelps aphelps@alcoaschools.net 

Patty Honabach phonabach@alcoaschools.net            Jennifer Kelly jkelly@alcoaschools.net 

Caprice Richardson crichardson@alcoaschools.net    Codi Dunning cdunning@alcoaschools.net

Betsy James ​bjames@alcoaschools.net               Kelsi Laverdiere klaverdiere@alcoaschools.net

 

Didn't Get a Yearbook?
YOU CAN STILL ORDER A YEARBOOK!
 
AES Yearbook Webpage:
Pod 7 Teachers
Betsy James
Betsy James
bjames@alcoaschools.net
Caprice Richardson
Caprice Richardson
crichardson@alcoaschools.net
Angela Phelps
Angela Phelps
aphelps@alcoaschools.net
Sandra Steart
Sandra Stuart
sstuart@alcoaschools.net
Pod 8 Teachers
Jennifer Kelly
Jennifer Kelly
jkelly@alcoaschools.net
Codi Dunning
Codi Dunning
cdunning@alcoaschools.net
Patricia Honabach
Patricia Honabach
Mrs. Laverdiere
Kelsi Laverdiere
Second Grade Paraprofessional
Lisa Hendrickson
Lisa Hendrickson
lhendrickson@alcoaschools.net
Second Grade 2020-21 Supply List
Second Grade 2020-21 Supply List
Happy Computer
Search AES Library for Books
Search Alexandria for Books
Search for an AR Book
Search Reading Rennaissance
Links to Top Second Grade Education Apps
code.org
Scholastic News
Breakout.EDU
AES Broadcast YouTube Channel
 
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
 
Teach Your Monster to Read
Word it Out Word Clouds
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz