Second Grade

 Second Grade Logo
Second Grade Newsletter
Updated: August 1, 2020
 

The 2020-2021 school year is off to an amazing, yet uncertain and unimaginable, start.  We are blessed to be back in the classroom with our students, even if it’s only once a week.  Our children understand the importance of social distancing, washing hands, sanitizing, and virtual communication.  These aren’t the terms we imagined our children needing to learn and use, but they are doing such a wonderful job!  We will work together to help our students feel safe, be successful this year, and have fun learning together.  

We encourage all parents to connect to ClassDoJo.  This is the easiest and most efficient way to communicate with your child’s teacher.  Teachers also share photos, upcoming events, and reminders through ClassDoJo.  There is very important information there and it would be helpful if you checked DoJo every day or so.

Many students will be in school one day a week but they will participate in Virtual Learning the other four days.  All students are expected to participate daily by logging into Google Classroom.  While working online, students will be joining Google Meets to participate with classmates and other students working from home.  Students will also complete lessons online and use notebooks, journals, and packets as assigned.  Student work will be assessed weekly.

Soon we will settle into a routine and become comfortable navigating all the digital resources. We are excited to be back in school and look forward to a fabulous year!  Please let us know of anything you need.  We love our little Alcoa Tornadoes!

 

Parents/Guardians and students please look over our Back to School District Protocols

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tTCkRXpPlkiiqHZNZPhwKNFSR1WA55-K/view

As well as our ACS Virtual Learning Family Guid

 
Upcoming Dates
  • August 11 Fall Picture Day
  • September 7-8.   No School
  • September 9     Students return full time (except VLA)
  • September 25. End of the first 9-weeks - report cards
  • Sept. 26-October 11        Fall Break
 
 

The best way to contact your child’s teacher is through Class DoJo or the email listed below:              

Sandy Stuart sstuart@alcoaschools.net                       Angela Phelps aphelps@alcoaschools.net 

Patty Honabach phonabach@alcoaschools.net            Jennifer Kelly jkelly@alcoaschools.net 

Caprice Richardson crichardson@alcoaschools.net    Codi Dunning cdunning@alcoaschools.net

Betsy James ​bjames@alcoaschools.net               Kelsi Laverdiere klaverdiere@alcoaschools.net

 

Didn't Get a Yearbook?
YOU CAN STILL ORDER A YEARBOOK!
 
AES Yearbook Webpage:
Pod 7 Teachers
Betsy James
Betsy James
bjames@alcoaschools.net
Caprice Richardson
Caprice Richardson
crichardson@alcoaschools.net
Angela Phelps
Angela Phelps
aphelps@alcoaschools.net
Sandra Steart
Sandra Stuart
sstuart@alcoaschools.net
Pod 8 Teachers
Jennifer Kelly
Jennifer Kelly
jkelly@alcoaschools.net
Codi Dunning
Codi Dunning
cdunning@alcoaschools.net
Patricia Honabach
Patricia Honabach
Mrs. Laverdiere
Kelsi Laverdiere
Second Grade Paraprofessional
Lisa Hendrickson
Lisa Hendrickson
lhendrickson@alcoaschools.net
Second Grade 2020-21 Supply List
Second Grade 2020-21 Supply List
Happy Computer
Search AES Library for Books
Search Alexandria for Books
Search for an AR Book
Search Reading Rennaissance
Links to Top Second Grade Education Apps
code.org
Scholastic News
Breakout.EDU
AES Broadcast YouTube Channel
Login with Clever
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
IXL Learning
Teach Your Monster to Read
Word it Out Word Clouds
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz