Second Grade

 Second Grade Logo
Second Grade Newsletter
Last Update: December 16, 2019
What's Happening in Second Grade: December 13, 2019
      • Second grade classes will have their Christmas Parties on Thursday, December 19, from 1:30-2:30 p.m. If you are interested in helping please contact your child’s teacher for more information.
      • December 13 was the last day for students to meet their AR Goals for the second 9-weeks. Students that met their AR Goal will receive a reading bling and attend a pajama/movie party on Thursday, December 19. 
      • We often find jacket, gloves, and hats left on the playground, at specials, and in the hall. We try to find the owner of the lost items but aren’t always successful. Please write your child’s name in jackets and other items so we can reunite children and their outerwear. 
      • Please keep an extra set of clothes in your child’s backpack in the event that they need to change due to unexpected events such as a spill, bloody nose, or a tear.

Goals & Testing:  Second grade students are expected to read books and take available AR comprehension tests throughout the year.   Students have access to a variety of books in the classroom, library, on EPIC, and various books we read in class that have AR tests. If we have read, worked with, and discussed a book in class, students are often expected to take the AR test and a comprehension score is taken. Students have several opportunities to take tests in class.  They can take a test most mornings upon arriving to class and they have opportunities at certain times during the day. Students need an average comprehension score of 80% on tests, as well as reaching their numeric goal. Students can take tests on books they have read at home if there is a corresponding test. Students just need to know the author and title to find an AR test.  To see if a book your child is reading has an AR test go to arbookfinder.com. 

AR Goals will be set as follows;

  • T2-T3 students’ goals will be set using the Renaissance AR Goal Calculator with students reading 15 minutes per day.
  • All other students’ goals will be set using the Renaissance AR Goal Calculator with students reading 20 minutes per day. 
  • All students must have an accuracy of at least 80%

Rewards:

  • Meet AR Goal- Bling and AR Treat & Party
  • Double AR Goal- Bling, AR Treat & Party, Spotlight, and they will sit at the VIP table during lunch one day during the last week of the term (Maybe we could get Pizza if there is money available)
  • Triple AR Goal- Bling, AR Treat & Party, Spotlight, sit at the VIP table, and Principal for the Announcements or other determined options

AES Special's Rotation Schedule:   

 

Second Grade & AES School Calendar:
December 19- Second Grade Christmas Party 1;30-2:30
December 20- Mobile Zoo Visit, Last Day before Winter Break
 
NOTE: 2nd Grade Activities & Club Meeting Days and Times:
 - Drama Club - Every Tuesday after school 2:40-4:00
 - Running Club - Every Wednesday after school 2:40-4:00
 - Choir Practice - Every Thursday after school 3:40-4:00
 
 
 
 

The best way to contact your child’s teacher is through Class DoJo or the email listed below:              

Sandy Stuart sstuart@alcoaschools.net                       Angela Phelps aphelps@alcoaschools.net 

Patty Honabach phonabach@alcoaschools.net            Jennifer Kelly jkelly@alcoaschools.net 

Caprice Richardson crichardson@alcoaschools.net    Codi Dunning cdunning@alcoaschools.net

Betsy James ​bjames@alcoaschools.net               Kelsi Laverdiere klaverdiere@alcoaschools.net

 

Didn't Get a Yearbook?
YOU CAN STILL ORDER A YEARBOOK!
 
AES Yearbook Webpage:
Pod 7 Teachers
Betsy James
Betsy James
bjames@alcoaschools.net
Caprice Richardson
Caprice Richardson
crichardson@alcoaschools.net
Angela Phelps
Angela Phelps
aphelps@alcoaschools.net
Sandra Steart
Sandra Stuart
sstuart@alcoaschools.net
Pod 8 Teachers
Jennifer Kelly
Jennifer Kelly
jkelly@alcoaschools.net
Codi Dunning
Codi Dunning
cdunning@alcoaschools.net
Patricia Honabach
Patricia Honabach
Mrs. Laverdiere
Kelsi Laverdiere
Second Grade Paraprofessional
Lisa Hendrickson
Lisa Hendrickson
lhendrickson@alcoaschools.net
Happy Computer
Search AES Library for Books
Search Alexandria for Books
Search for an AR Book
Search Reading Rennaissance
Links to Top Second Grade Education Apps
code.org
Scholastic News
Breakout.EDU
AES Broadcast YouTube Channel
Login with Clever
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
IXL Learning
Teach Your Monster to Read
Word it Out Word Clouds
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz