Academics » Second Grade

Second Grade

 Second Grade Logo
Second Grade Newsletter
Last Update:  February 3, 2019
 
What's Happening This Week:
We are using informational texts and historic fiction to learn about Famous Americans.  We are understanding how historic fiction can help us better understand historic events.  Students continue to write opinions on books and/or the people we are studying and backing up their opinions with evidence from the texts.
 
Students are working on addition and subtraction strategies for solving double digit problems.  If your child is struggling with math there are a few things you can do to help them. Let your child help you with everyday activities that involve math such as counting loose change, helping with recipes, finding and comparing prices in grocery ads, tell time on an analog clock, and there are games you can play.  One game to play is Addition War. To play remove wild cards and face cards from a deck of cards. Divide the deck in half between two players. Each player sets the half deck face down in front of them. Players will turn over their top card at the same time. The first player to correctly state the sum of the cards, wins the round.  Winning player keeps the cards and they turn the next card over. Game ends when one person has all the cards.
 
AR Goals & Testing:  Students can take tests on books read at home if there is a corresponding test.  Students just need to know the author and title to find an AR test. To see if a book your child is reading has an AR test go to arbookfinder.com.  
  
Upcoming Dates:
 
Feb. 4 One Book Blitz Kick-Off (Book Will Be Revealed)
Feb. 6 Candy Bar Fundraiser Kick-Off
Feb. 7 Parent Advisory 8am
Feb 18 No SchoolPresident's Day
Feb 19 No School (Teacher INSERVICE)
Feb 21 Last Day to Order One Book Blitz T-shirt (Click Here to Order: https://onebookblitz2019.itemorder.com)
Feb 22 Candy Bar Fundraiser Ends
Feb 25-Mar 1 Book Fair
Feb 25 Spring Picture Day
Feb 28 Family Literacy Night
 
Pod 7 Teachers
Betsy James
Betsy James
bjames@alcoaschools.net
Caprice Richardson
Caprice Richardson
crichardson@alcoaschools.net
Angela Phelps
Angela Phelps
aphelps@alcoaschools.net
Sandra Steart
Sandra Stuart
sstuart@alcoaschools.net
Pod 8 Teachers
Jennifer Kelly
Jennifer Kelly
jkelly@alcoaschools.net
Codi Dunning
Codi Dunning
cdunning@alcoaschools.net
Patricia Honabach
Patricia Honabach
phonabach@alcoaschools.net
Second Grade Paraprofessional
Lisa Hendrickson
Lisa Hendrickson
lhendrickson@alcoaschools.net
Happy Computer
Search AES Library for Books
Search for an AR Book
Links to Top Second Grade Education Apps
code.org
Scholastic News
Breakout.EDU
AES Broadcast YouTube Channel
Login with Clever
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
Teach Your Monster to Read
Word it Out Word Clouds
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz