Academics » Second Grade

Second Grade

 Second Grade Logo
Second Grade Newsletter
Last Update: April 22, 2019
 
What's Happening This Week:
This week our students spent time with each of the second grade teachers as we learned about forces (erosion) that change the earth. Students explored  how water, glaciers, and wind change earth’s surface. They also learned about the earth’s crust-land and water. Students designed ways to stop beach erosion and enjoyed learning about and studying rocks. Each room was transformed into an interactive area.  It was an engaging week.
 
Our field trip to Tuckaleechee Caverns, Thursday, was awesome! We walked over a mile underground and the students identified stalactites, stalagmites, columns, flow stone, curtains, bacon, and waterfalls, We saw a chandelier in the big room and cave formations that looked like dragons, superman and a princess.
 
Special's Rotation for April

April 23 - Alcoa School Board Meeting (5:00 p.m.)

April 23 - Drama Club Practice

April 24 - Secretary Appreciation Day

April 24 - Choir Practice

April 25 - Showcase of the Arts (5:00 - 7:00 p.m.)

April 26 -  Lunch with a Loved One

April 29-May 3 - Cafeteria Worker Appreciation Week

May 2 - Drama Club Wrap-Up Party

May 6-10 - Teacher Appreciation Week

May 6 - Nurse Appreciation Day

May 9 - Alcoa High School Walk of Fame

May 10 - Alcoa High School Graduation

May 16 - AIS Transition Meeting for Rising 3rd Graders

May 20-21 Pre-K Registration

May 20 - Kindergarten Round-Up (Non-Resident) tuition students 8:00am - 3:00pm

May 21 - Alcoa School Board Meeting (5:00 p.m.)

May 22 - 2nd Grade End of the Year Picnic

May 23 - Last day for students

 

Didn't Get a Yearbook?
YOU CAN STILL ORDER A YEARBOOK!
 
AES Yearbook Webpage:
Pod 7 Teachers
Betsy James
Betsy James
bjames@alcoaschools.net
Caprice Richardson
Caprice Richardson
crichardson@alcoaschools.net
Angela Phelps
Angela Phelps
aphelps@alcoaschools.net
Sandra Steart
Sandra Stuart
sstuart@alcoaschools.net
Pod 8 Teachers
Jennifer Kelly
Jennifer Kelly
jkelly@alcoaschools.net
Codi Dunning
Codi Dunning
cdunning@alcoaschools.net
Patricia Honabach
Patricia Honabach
phonabach@alcoaschools.net
Second Grade Paraprofessional
Lisa Hendrickson
Lisa Hendrickson
lhendrickson@alcoaschools.net
Happy Computer
Search AES Library for Books
Search for an AR Book
Links to Top Second Grade Education Apps
code.org
Scholastic News
Breakout.EDU
AES Broadcast YouTube Channel
Login with Clever
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
Teach Your Monster to Read
Word it Out Word Clouds
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz