Academics » Kindergarten

Kindergarten

 AES Kindergarten Logo 

Kindergarten News

Last Updated: April 22, 2019

 

What's Happening This Week:

Please remember that we will not have school on April 18th and 19th due to incoming K registration and Good Friday.

-Our field trip is scheduled for May 2nd. We will be sending home more info as the trip gets closer. Please talk to your teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

-We have finished introducing all the Kindergarten sight words. We will be reviewing these each week. Please spend some time at home practicing these words. We will be assessing these in about 3 to 4 weeks.

-We have spent this week finishing our habitat unit. The students were able to do research on a habitat of their choice and write about all the details. They then created a habitat based on all the knowledge they learned. Next week we will learn about insects.

-We have spent this week learning about animal Habitats. We have even transformed our classrooms to look like a different habitat for the students to experience. Next week we will continue our habitat research while creating the habitat dioramas in class and then presenting to the class.  

 

What are We Learning This Week in Kindergarten?

Unit:

Insects

Sight Words:

Review

Reading

Researching Insects

Math:

Classify/sort objects and count the number in each group and then compare

 

Did you Know that you can STILL ORDER a Yearbook?  VISIT OUR YEARBOOK WEBSITE

Upcoming Dates:
April 23 School Board Meeting
April 24 AES Secretary Appreciation Day
April 25 Showcase of the Arts
April 26th Spring Lunch with a Loved One
April 29-May 3 Cafeteria Worker Appreciation Week
May 2 Kindergarten Zoo Field Trip
May 6-10 Teacher Appreciation Week
May 6 Nurse Appreciation Day
May 9 Alcoa High School Walk of Fame
May 15 Park Day
May 17 Kindergarten Celebration
May 20 Kindergarten Roundup Registration for Non-Resident Tuition Students
May 21 School Board Meeting
May 23 Last Day of School
 
  
Pod 3 Kindergarten Teachers
Mrs. Hall                                                      
Davonda Hall 
dhall@alcoaschools.net                                                                               
Catherine Lawrence
Catherine Lawrence 
clawrence@alcoaschools.net
 Chiesa WIlliams
Chiesa Williams
cwilliams@alcoaschools.net
 Mandy Hitson
Mandy Hitson 
mhitson@alcoaschools.net

Pod 3 Kindergarten Teachers

Allie Huff

Allie Huff

ahuff@alcoaschools.net

Kristin Geren

Kristin Geren (Grade Team Chair)

kgeren@alcoaschools.net

Monica Chapman

Monica Chapman

mchapman@alcoaschools.net

Meredith Miller

Meredith Miller

mmiller@alcoaschools.net

 

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Amanda Pittard

Amanda Pittard 

apittard@alcoaschools.net

Happy Computer
Is Your Book an AR Book?
Search Reading Rennaissance
Search AES Library for Books
Search Alexandria for Books
 Links to Top Kindergarten Education Apps
Login with Clever
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
IXL Learning
Teach Your Monster to Read
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz