Academics » Kindergarten

Kindergarten

 AES Kindergarten Logo 

Kindergarten News

Last Updated: February 4, 2019

 

What's Happening This Week:

 

We were so excited to see all the wonderful “100 days of K projects” that your student brought in to school. The kids loved walking through the pod and seeing the different projects as well. Thanks so much for your hardwork and dedication to this special day.

Monday is a very exciting day. We will have our opening ceremony for the “One Book Blitz”. We will also be sending home the book, which will be revealed on Monday. We will not be reading this daily in class. We are encouraging our families to read a chapter a night with their students at home. This will help to instill the love of reading with your student.

We have hit the first day of February but, we could still have snow pop into the area. Please make sure that your contact info is up to date on skyward. This helps us to reach you quickly in case of closing of school or your child becomes sick during the school day. Thanks so much for your help with this concern

  

What are We Learning in Kindergarten?

 

Unit:

Motion and Matter

Sight Words:

- One

- And

- An

Reading

With prompting and support describe the connection between two individuals, events, ideas or pieces of information in a text.

Math:

Describe similarities and differences between two and three dimensional shapes in different sizes and orientations

 

Upcoming Dates:
  
Feb. 4 One Book Blitz Kick-Off (Book Will Be Revealed)
Feb. 6 Candy Bar Fundraiser Kick-Off
Feb. 7 Parent Advisory 8am
Feb 18 No School - President's Day
Feb 19 No School (Teacher INSERVICE)
Feb 21 Last Day to Order One Book Blitz T-shirt (Click Here to Order: https://onebookblitz2019.itemorder.com)
Feb 22 Candy Bar Fundraiser Ends
Feb 25-Mar 1 Book Fair
Feb 25 Spring Picture Day
Feb 28 Family Literacy Night
 

 

  
Pod 3 Kindergarten Teachers
Mrs. Hall                                                      
Davonda Hall 
dhall@alcoaschools.net                                                                               
Catherine Lawrence
Catherine Lawrence 
clawrence@alcoaschools.net
 Chiesa WIlliams
Chiesa Williams
cwilliams@alcoaschools.net
 Mandy Hitson
Mandy Hitson 
mhitson@alcoaschools.net

Pod 3 Kindergarten Teachers

Allie Huff

Allie Huff

ahuff@alcoaschools.net

Kristin Geren

Kristin Geren (Grade Team Chair)

kgeren@alcoaschools.net

Monica Chapman

Monica Chapman

mchapman@alcoaschools.net

Meredith Miller

Meredith Miller

mmiller@alcoaschools.net

 

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Amanda Pittard

Amanda Pittard 

apittard@alcoaschools.net

Happy Computer
Is Your Book an AR Book?
Search Reading Rennaissance
Search AES Library for Books
Search Alexandria for Books
 Links to Top Kindergarten Education Apps
Login with Clever
Starfall
iknowit.com
epic.com
abcya.com
prodigy.com
freckle.com
pebblego.com
brainpopjr.com
seussville.com
pbskids.com
keyboard climber
Type Rocket Jr
IXL Learning
Teach Your Monster to Read
Parent Communication Tools
Check with your child's teacher to see what app they're using in their classroom
Class DoJo
Bloomz